top of page

Our History. A Rich Legacy.

Gamma Phi Delta Sorority, Inc. was founded in February, 1943 at the Lewis Business College (Lewis College of Business) Detroit, Michigan by Mrs. Elizabeth Garner, an instructor at the College, assisted by her sister, Mrs. Violet T. Lewis, owner and President of the College.

In 1943, our Founders chartered a course into the world of Freedom for Gamma Phi Delta. They stepped forward with bold courage and enthusiasm, leaving us a clearly marked trail to follow. No doubt there were many times when they became weary, nevertheless, the well-marked trail was left. 


We invite you to learn more about Gamma Phi Delta Sorority, Inc. please visit our National Website.

The Legacy of our Region

The South Atlantic Region, organized at the 1988 National Conference in Orlando, Florida, by National President, Willie B. Kennedy, was established to encompass Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, and South Carolina. Our region is currently comprised of ten chapters along with Members at Large.  In addition to our National Observances, our chapters are active in their communities, serving women, children, and the elderly. 


Gamma Phi Delta Sorority, Inc., the South Atlantic Region, extends its scholarship opportunities to graduating high school seniors and college freshmen. There are four scholarships presented in the amount of $500.00 each.

The scholarships are designed to enhance and assist youth/young adults pursuing a higher education via traditional college, tech, or trade schools.

The scholarships are based on academic achievement, leadership, social awareness, career goals, financial needs, public service, and community involvement.

The scholarships are awarded during our Biennial Regional Conferences.

The original eight chapters were part of the Southern Region:

  • Alpha Beta - Greensboro, NC

  • Alpha Phi - Orlando, FL

  • Alpha Upsilon - Winston-Salem, NC

  • Beta Eta - Charlotte, NC

  • Beta Upsilon - St. Petersburg, FL

  • Delta Delta - Tampa, FL

  • Gamma Delta - Eatonville, FL

Regional Director Lineage:

  • Deloris H. Jackson - 1989 to 1994

  • Larnetra Richardson - 1995 to 1998

  • Prodell Carson - 1999 to 2004

  • Rebecca H. Ford - 2005 to 2008

  • Denise Corley - 2009 to 2012

  • Pinkie Sanders - 2013 to 2016

  • Althea Jackson - 2017 to 2020

  • Almeda Alexander - 2020 to 2023

  • Angela Bowman - 2023 - 2025

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
bottom of page